K-pop boy groups Ateez and Enhypen top 10 on Billboard’s 200 albums chart


The boy band Ateez [KQ ENTERTAINMENT]

K-pop boy groups Ateez and Enhypen made their first top 10 entries on the Billboard 200 album chart on Sunday.

Ateez entered the Billboard 200 at No. 3 with their latest EP “The World Ep.1: Movement”.

This is Ateez’s first time in the top 10 ranking, as well as its highest ranking to date.

The boy band‘s eighth EP, released on July 29, “The World Ep.1: Movement” has sold 50,000 copies in the United States, according to Billboard’s announcement on Sunday.

The Billboard 200 takes into account physical CD sales as well as the number of online streams and downloads that are converted to count as CD sales. One thousand five hundred on-demand streams are counted as one streaming equivalent album (SEA), and 10 track downloads are counted as one track equivalent album (TEA).

“The World Ep.1: Movement” sold 47,000 physical copies, 3,000 in SEA and the rest in TEA.

Last September, Ateez ranked at number 42 on the Billboard 200 with their EP “Zero: Fever Part. 3” (2021).

The Enhypen <a class=Boy Band [BELIFT LAB]” src=”https://koreajoongangdaily.joins.com/data/photo/2022/08/08/1c7164fb-b59b-4e2a-9f46-59aaaf90b101.jpg”/>

The Enhypen Boy Band [BELIFT LAB]

On the same day, boy band Enhypen also entered the top 10 of the Billboard 200 for the first time, taking sixth place with their third EP “Manifesto: Day 1”.

The EP, which dropped on July 4, sold 39,000 physical copies, just under 1,000 in SEA, and the rest in TEA.

Ateez debuted in 2018 and has eight members: Hongjoong, Seonghwa, Yunho, Yeosang, San, Mingi, Wooyoung, and Jongho. He is known for the hits “Wave” (2019), “Wonderland” (2019), “Déjà vu” (2021), “The Real” (2021) and “Guerrilla” (2022).

Enhypen was formed in 2020 by the seven finalists of Mnet’s “I-Land” audition program (2020). It consists of members Jungwon, Heeseung, Jay, Jake, Sunghoon, Sunoo and Ni-ki and is best known for the hits “Given-Taken” (2020), “Drunk-Dazed” (2021), “Tamed-Dashed” (2021) and “Future Perfect (Pass the MIC).”

BY HALEY YANG [[email protected]]


About Author

Comments are closed.